Wayne Lukas made his first significant mark on the national racing scene in 1980 when he brought Codex to Pimlico and won the Preakness. He went on to smash most of the records in his profession, and he has won five Preaknesses in all. Robert Walden, who won the race seven times between 1875 and 1888, holds the record.

Lukas’s stable hasn’t been nearly as strong in the last decade or so as it was in his heyday, and his fortunes have declined. He hasn’t won a Triple Crown race since Charismatic captured the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness in 1999.

He will saddle three runners on Saturday -- Oxbow, who finished sixth in the Derby; Will Take Charge, eighth in the Derby; and Titletown Five, a little-regarded longshot. They will be his 38th, 39th and 40th starters in the Preakness -- a record.

Lukas’s record:

Year Horse Preakness finish
2012 Optimizer 6th
2010 Dublin 5th
2010 Northern Giant 12th
2008 Flying Private 4th
2008 Luv Gov 8th
2007 Flying First Class 9th
2005 Going Wild 14th
2003 Scrimshaw 3rd
2003 Ten Cents A Shine 9th
2002 Proud Citizen 3rd
2002 Table Limit 11th
2000 High Yield 7th
1999 Charismatic 1st
1999 Cat Thief 7th
1998 Baquero 7th
1998 Cape Town 9th
1996 Editor’s Note 3rd
1996 Victory Speech 5th
1996 Prince Of Thieves 7th
1995 Timber Country 1st
1995 Thunder Gulch 3rd
1994 Tabasco Cat 1st
1993 Union City DNF
1992 Dance Floor 4th
1992 Big Sur 11th
1991 Corporate Report 2nd
1990 Kentucky Jazz 7th
1990 Land Rush 6th
1989 Houston 6th
1988 Winning Colors 3rd
1987 Lookinforthebigone 7th
1986 Badger Land 4th
1985 Clear Choice 7th
1985 Tank’s Prospect 1st
1983 Marfa 4th
1981 Partez 5th
1980 Codex 1st