Faces of the Fallen


52 U.S. service members between the ages of 50-59 have died in Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring Freedom

Harold Greene David Poirier Coater  Debose John  Pratt James Crawford James Coker Steve Theobald John  Laborde Michael  Shannon Jose  Crisostomo Kevin  Dupont Rocco  Barnes Duane  Wolfe Matthew  Houseal Charles  Springle Milton Suggs Julio Ordonez Daniel  Sexton Joseph McKay Joseph  Moore Stephen   Scott Richard  Berrettini Victor  Jeffries Thomas Bruner Robin Towns Sr. Julian Ingles Rios Glade Felix David Canegata Theodore Spatol Peter Winston Ronald Paulsen Carlos Dominguez Robb Needham Merideth Howard Charles Munier John Stone Milton Rivera-Vargas Ramon Acevedoaponte Edward Jack Otie McVey Clifford Moxley Jr. Frank Carvill William Chaney Edward Barnhill Herbert Claunch Thomas Thigpen Sr. Clarence Boone Floyd Knighten David Scott Roger Rowe Christopher Coffin John Marshall

Casualties by year

  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010
  • 2009
  • 2008
  • 2007
  • 2006
  • 2005
  • 2004
  • 2003
  • 2002
  • 2001
  • 0

Casualties by state

Casualties by category

All 6839 U.S. service members, click to see casualties.

About Faces of the Fallen

February 2013 update: Due to a technical issue, a number of the home states listed for service members appeared incorrectly in this database. Those entries have since been corrected.

Faces of the Fallen is a collection of information about each U.S. service member who has died as a result of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, in Operation Iraqi Freedom, Operation New Dawn and Operation Enduring Freedom.

This information is updated at least weekly from military releases, news service reports and local newspaper stories. The photographs come from news services, local newspapers and family members. The Washington Post cannot give permission to allow for third-party use of the photos in Faces of the Fallen due to contractual agreements with other news organizations.

Research by Magda Jean-Louis, Whitney Fetterhoff and Mary Hadar.
Application design and development by Sisi Wei, Jeremy Bowers and Wilson Andrews.