Faces of the Fallen


57 U.S. service member deaths caused by other-unknown in Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring Freedom
David Poirier Joshua Gray Anthony  Maddox Benjamin  Tuttle Justin  Rogers Jesse  Thomas Jr. Mariano  Raymundo Matthew  Ruffner Jarett  Yoder James  Groves III Steven  Blass Bryan  Henderson Sara  Knutson Marc  Scialdo Zachary   Shannon Leonard  Robinson Kevin  Lipari Rayvon  Battle Jr., Daniel  Carlson Brandon  Buttry Shane Wilson Patricia  Horne Coater  Debose David Williams Kyle  McClain Benjamin  Pleitez Eric  Williams Brandon  Pepper Jeffrey  Rice Erik  May Raul  Guerra Matthew  Leach Robert  Massarelli Michael  Strachota Paul  Voelke Richard  Kessler Jr. Alex  Hernandez III Gregory  Childs Zachary  Hargrove Bruce  Clark Manuel  Vasquez Michael  Braden Trevor  Stanley James  Dutton David  Taylor Aaron  Istre Jesse  Grindey Robert  Marchanti II Allen  McKenna Jr. Paris  Pough Jerry  Reed II Cesar  Cortez Billy  Sutton Keith Benson Michael  Pyron Mikayla  Bragg Ahmed Altaie

Casualties by year

  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010
  • 2009
  • 2008
  • 2007
  • 2006
  • 2005
  • 2004
  • 2003
  • 2002
  • 2001
  • 0

Casualties by state

Casualties by category

All 6839 U.S. service members, click to see casualties.

About Faces of the Fallen

February 2013 update: Due to a technical issue, a number of the home states listed for service members appeared incorrectly in this database. Those entries have since been corrected.

Faces of the Fallen is a collection of information about each U.S. service member who has died as a result of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, in Operation Iraqi Freedom, Operation New Dawn and Operation Enduring Freedom.

This information is updated at least weekly from military releases, news service reports and local newspaper stories. The photographs come from news services, local newspapers and family members. The Washington Post cannot give permission to allow for third-party use of the photos in Faces of the Fallen due to contractual agreements with other news organizations.

Research by Magda Jean-Louis, Whitney Fetterhoff and Mary Hadar.
Application design and development by Sisi Wei, Jeremy Bowers and Wilson Andrews.