Faces of the Fallen


49 U.S. service members died during 2002 in Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring Freedom

Steven Checo Pedro Pena-Suarez Thomas Robinson Jerry Pope II James Ebbers Antonio Sledd Mark Wayne Jackson Ryan Foraker Christopher James Speer Peter Tycz II Sean Corlew Anissa Shero Gene Arden Vance Jr. Katrina Grady Jamie Maugans Justin Galewski Brian Craig Daniel Romero Matthew Bourgeois Marc Anderson Neil Roberts Bradley Crose Philip Svitak Matthew Commons John Chapman Jason Cunningham Stanley Harriman Curtis Carter James Dorrity Jeremy Foshee Bruce Rushforth Jr. Curtis Feistner Bartt Owens Jody Egnor Kerry Frith Thomas Allison William McDaniel II Juan Ridout Jason Disney Dwight Morgan Walter Cohee III Daniel McCollum Nathan Hays Scott Germosen Bryan Bertrand Matthew Bancroft Jeannette Winters Stephen Bryson Nathan Ross Chapman

Casualties by year

  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010
  • 2009
  • 2008
  • 2007
  • 2006
  • 2005
  • 2004
  • 2003
  • 2002
  • 2001
  • 0

Casualties by state

Casualties by category

All 6839 U.S. service members, click to see casualties.

About Faces of the Fallen

February 2013 update: Due to a technical issue, a number of the home states listed for service members appeared incorrectly in this database. Those entries have since been corrected.

Faces of the Fallen is a collection of information about each U.S. service member who has died as a result of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, in Operation Iraqi Freedom, Operation New Dawn and Operation Enduring Freedom.

This information is updated at least weekly from military releases, news service reports and local newspaper stories. The photographs come from news services, local newspapers and family members. The Washington Post cannot give permission to allow for third-party use of the photos in Faces of the Fallen due to contractual agreements with other news organizations.

Research by Magda Jean-Louis, Whitney Fetterhoff and Mary Hadar.
Application design and development by Sisi Wei, Jeremy Bowers and Wilson Andrews.